History of Institute | Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry of the Russian Academy of Sciences

History of Institute

The history of the Institute had begun many years before its formal establishment in 1945, when it was named the Institute of Physical Chemistry. In fact, the Institute was founded 70 years ago under the name of the Colloidal-Electrochemical Institute, and its first director was academician V.A. Kistyakovsky, an outstanding scientist in the fields of colloid chemistry, electrochemistry, and corrosion processes. The beginning of the 20th century was marked in chemical sciences by rapid development of the colloid chemistry. Largely due to this fact, a Colloidal-Electrochemical Laboratory was organized in 1929 within the framework of the USSR Academy of Sciences, and it was Kistyakovsky who organized this Laboratory and laid the foundation for future growth of the Institute.

In 1957, the Department of Electrochemistry, then headed by academician A.N. Frumkin, was separated from the Institute and used to organize an independent academic entity – the Institute of Electrochemistry.

In 2005, a new stage in this history began upon merging of the Institute of Physical Chemistry and the Institute of Electrochemistry. After that, the Institute received its present name – the A.N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry.

In August 2008 the Institute was renamed in accordance with the Resolution of RAS Presidium №274 dated Decemter 18, 2007 “About the Renaming of Organisations within Jurisdiction of Russian Academy of Sciences” to “Institution of Russian Academy of Sciences A. N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry”.

And nowadays, the Institute continues to develop in correspondence with modern trends in science on the whole and in physical chemistry in particular. Investigations in the main directions of research are now headed by academicians I.P. Beletskaya, B.F. Myasoedov, A.I. Rusanov, Yu.D. Tret’yakov, and A.Yu. Tsivadze and by associated academy members Yu.M. Polukarov, I.V. Melikhov and Yu.A. Chizmadzhev.

shadow shadow