Scientific school of Academician V.E. KAZARINOV | Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Scientific school of Academician V.E. KAZARINOV

Academician V.E. KAZARINOV headed the Institute of Electrochemistry from 1977 to 1999. The main interests of his own research work were in the fields of basic and applied electrochemistry, surface phenomena and double electric layer, electrocatalysis, electrochemistry of conducting polymers, radiation chemistry, and various technical applications (chemical energy sources, medicine, ecology, automation of measurements). Kazarinhov was a winner of the USSR State Prize in Science and Technology, the RF Government Prize in Science and Technology, the Prize of the International Academic Publishing Company “Nauka” for a series of outstanding scientific publications in academic journals.


He was the editor-in-chief of the journal “Elektrokhimiya” (Electrochemistry) in 1996–1999, a vice-president of the International Electrochemical Society (1985–1986), the chairman of the orgamnizing committee of the Frumkin International Symposia on Electrochemistry. Kazarinov was awarded the Labor Red Banner and Labor Heroism awards.

Associated academy member Prof. V.G. LEVICH (1917 – 1987) was a physicist belonging to the famous theoretical school of academician L.D. Landau. Levich had a broad spectrum of scientific interests, ranging from basic problems of theoretical physics to the theory of chemical reactors. His main investigations were devoted to the problems of physicochemical hydrodynamics, theoretical electrochemistry, and chemical kinetics. Levich was the author of a handbook on theoretical physics and a world-recognized monograph “Physicochemical Hydrodynamics” translated into many languages. He headed the Chair of Theoretical Physics at the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute and the Chair of Chemical Mechanics at the Moscow State University. In 1958–1972 he also headed the theoretical department of the Institute of Electrochemistry.

Traditions of Frumkin’s school in electrochemistry are now kept up in the laboratories headed by
Yu.A. Chizmadzhev, V.N. Andreev, A.V. Vannikov, A.D. Davydov, A.M. Skundin, M.R. Tarasevich, and V.P. Lukovtsev.

shadow shadow